Tanzania National Parks


About Tanzania National Parks National Parks

Tanzania’s national parks encompass a breathtaking array of landscapes, wildlife, and cultural heritage, making them a crown jewel of African conservation. Serengeti National Park, an iconic symbol of African wilderness, hosts the Great Migration, an awe-inspiring spectacle of millions of wildebeests, zebras, and predators roaming the savannah.

Towering above the plains, Mount Kilimanjaro, Africa’s highest peak, graces Kilimanjaro National Park, offering adventurous treks amidst glaciers and alpine forests. Ngorongoro Conservation Area shelters the world’s largest unbroken volcanic caldera, teeming with diverse wildlife, including the endangered black rhinoceros.

Tarangire National Park, with its baobab-dotted landscapes and vast elephant herds, paints a vivid picture of African savannahs. These parks, along with Selous Game Reserve, Lake Manyara National Park, and others, invite travelers to embark on unforgettable safaris, cultural encounters with Maasai tribes, and immersive experiences in Tanzania’s natural wonders.

detail-img detail-img

Tanzania National Parks's National Parks

Arusha National Park

Arusha National Park

Explore Now
Gombe Stream National Park up close

Gombe Stream National Park

Explore Now
Mount Kilimanjaro National Park aerial view

Kilimanjaro National Park

Explore Now
Flamingos in Lake Manyara National Park

Lake Manyara National Park

Explore Now
Ruaha National Park elephants at riverbank

Ruaha National Park

Explore Now
Serengeti National Park migration

Serengeti National Park

Explore Now
Tarangire National Park elephants

Tarangire National Park

Explore Now


1. How many national parks are there in Tanzania?

Tanzania boasts a total of 22 national parks. These parks cover a wide range of ecosystems, from savannahs and mountains to forests and coastal areas, and they are home to an incredible diversity of wildlife, including iconic species such as lions, elephants, giraffes, and more. These parks play a crucial role in conservation efforts and are also major attractions for tourists visiting Tanzania.

2. What is the largest national park in Tanzania?

The largest national park in Tanzania is Ruaha National Park. It covers an area of approximately 20,226 square kilometers, which is equivalent to about 7,809 square miles.

Ruaha National Park is located in the southern part of Tanzania and is renowned for its vast wilderness, diverse landscapes, and abundant wildlife, including large elephant herds, predators like lions and leopards, and a variety of bird species.

3. What is the smallest national park in Tanzania?

The smallest national park in Tanzania is Arusha National Park. It covers an area of approximately 552 square kilometers (213 square miles).

Despite its relatively small size compared to other national parks in Tanzania, Arusha National Park is renowned for its scenic beauty, diverse ecosystems, and proximity to the city of Arusha and Mount Kilimanjaro. The park is home to a variety of wildlife, including giraffes, buffaloes, zebras, and a wide range of bird species.

4. An alphabetical list of national parks in Tanzania?

Here is an alphabetical list of national parks in Tanzania:

  1. Arusha National Park
  2. Gombe Stream National Park
  3. Katavi National Park
  4. Kilimanjaro National Park
  5. Kitulo National Park
  6. Mahale Mountains National Park
  7. Mikumi National Park
  8. Mkomazi National Park
  9. Ruaha National Park
  10. Rubondo Island National Park
  11. Saadani National Park
  12. Serengeti National Park
  13. Tarangire National Park
  14. Udzungwa Mountains National Park

These national parks showcase Tanzania’s incredible biodiversity, stunning landscapes, and rich cultural heritage, making them popular destinations for wildlife enthusiasts and tourists alike

5. What was the first national park in Tanzania?

The first national park in Tanzania is Serengeti National Park. Established in 1951, Serengeti National Park is one of the oldest and most iconic national parks in Tanzania and Africa. It covers an area of approximately 14,750 square kilometers (5,700 square miles) and is located in the northern part of Tanzania, bordering Kenya’s Maasai Mara National Reserve.

Serengeti National Park is renowned for its vast savannah plains, diverse ecosystems, and extraordinary wildlife migrations, including the annual Great Migration of millions of wildebeests, zebras, and other ungulates. The park is also home to large populations of predators such as lions, leopards, and cheetahs, as well as numerous bird species.

Serengeti National Park is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and a flagship conservation area in Tanzania, attracting visitors from around the world for safari adventures and wildlife experiences.