Nepal National Parks


About Nepal National Parks National Parks

Nepal’s national parks form a tapestry of breathtaking landscapes, from the towering peaks of the Himalayas to the lush jungles of the Terai region, showcasing the country’s incredible biodiversity and natural beauty. From the iconic Sagarmatha National Park, home to Mount Everest, to the dense forests of Chitwan National Park, each park offers a unique wilderness experience.

Sagarmatha National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, is renowned for its high-altitude terrain, glaciers, and rare wildlife such as the snow leopard and red panda. Chitwan National Park, located in the lowlands of southern Nepal, is famous for its population of endangered one-horned rhinoceros, Bengal tigers, and Asian elephants.

Other notable parks include Langtang National Park, with its alpine landscapes, and Bardia National Park, known for its pristine wilderness and tiger conservation efforts. These national parks not only preserve Nepal’s natural heritage but also provide opportunities for trekking, wildlife watching, and cultural experiences amidst stunning landscapes.

detail-img detail-img

Nepal National Parks's National Parks

Bardiya National Park

Bardiya National Park

Explore Now
Chitwan National Park rhino

Chitwan National Park

Explore Now
Sagarmatha National Park

Sagarmatha National Park


1. How many national parks are there in Nepal?

Nepal is home to a total of 12 national parks. These national parks protect diverse ecosystems, including high-altitude mountains, dense forests, grasslands, and wetlands, and they are vital for the conservation of Nepal’s rich biodiversity.

Each national park offers unique opportunities for wildlife viewing, trekking, birdwatching, and cultural experiences, attracting visitors from around the world who come to explore Nepal’s natural beauty and wilderness.

2. What is the largest national park in Nepal?

The largest national park in Nepal is Shey Phoksundo National Park. Located in the remote Dolpa and Mugu districts of western Nepal, Shey Phoksundo National Park covers an area of approximately 3,555 square kilometers (about 1,373 square miles).

This vast and pristine wilderness is known for its stunning landscapes, including the deep Phoksundo Lake, alpine meadows, snow-capped peaks, and unique biodiversity. Shey Phoksundo National Park is home to rare wildlife species such as the snow leopard, blue sheep, Himalayan tahr, and musk deer, as well as diverse flora and birdlife.

The park also holds cultural significance, with several Tibetan Buddhist monasteries and traditional settlements scattered throughout the region.

Shey Phoksundo National Park offers opportunities for trekking, wilderness exploration, and cultural immersion, providing visitors with a truly unforgettable experience amidst the remote and majestic landscapes of western Nepal.

3. What is the smallest national park in Nepal?

The smallest national park in Nepal is Rara National Park. Located in the Mugu and Jumla districts of western Nepal, Rara National Park covers an area of approximately 106 square kilometers (about 41 square miles).

Despite its relatively small size compared to other national parks in Nepal, Rara National Park is known for its stunning beauty, including the pristine Rara Lake, the largest lake in Nepal.

The park is surrounded by dense forests, alpine meadows, and snow-capped peaks, providing habitat for various wildlife species such as red pandas, musk deer, Himalayan black bears, and numerous bird species.

Rara National Park offers opportunities for trekking, wildlife watching, and enjoying the tranquil beauty of the Himalayan landscapes, making it a popular destination for nature lovers and adventurers visiting western Nepal.

4. What was the first national park in Nepal?

The first national park established in Nepal is Sagarmatha National Park. Designated as a protected area in 1976, Sagarmatha National Park is located in the northeastern region of Nepal, covering an area of approximately 1,148 square kilometers (about 443 square miles).

It is named after Sagarmatha, the Nepali name for Mount Everest, the world’s highest peak, which is located within the park. Sagarmatha National Park is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and is known for its high-altitude landscapes, including rugged mountains, glaciers, deep valleys, and alpine meadows.

The park is home to diverse wildlife species such as the snow leopard, red panda, Himalayan tahr, and numerous bird species. Sagarmatha National Park offers opportunities for trekking, mountaineering, and experiencing the unique culture and traditions of the Sherpa people who inhabit the region.